Color Chart

2014 Small Flock
Poultry & Backyard
Guinea Fowl Conference

GFIA Articles &
Activities Index

Find us on Facebook GFIA Homepage

Predators (General Discussion)

by Guinea Mom, Friday, October 05, 2012, 01:51 (717 days ago)

I am new to raising Guines Fowl. I had 4 hens until this evening...I went outside to check on the hens as they were roosting in their tree, and Oreo was lying on the ground dead. There was no blood but his head was missing...and feathers were scattered. My other 3 hens are nowhere to be found. I feel terrible about this. I have tried to get them in their coop to sleep at night but they want nothing to do with it for roosting.

What is it that attacked my hens and do you think the others will come home or do you think they are dead as well? Any suggestions on how to get them in their house for the evening. They always have food and water. And leave a light on at night so there is light for them.

Any help, suggestions would be appreciated. Thank You. :-(

That was almost certainly an owl...

by CindyTX @, Friday, October 05, 2012, 03:50 (717 days ago) @ Guinea Mom

and once the owls figure out that there is a free buffet waiting for them in the trees, it won't be long until you have no more guineas.

We always strongly recommend that guineas be trained to go into a coop at night. All my neighbors told me when I first got guineas "just let them roost in the trees," but that is very bad advice. Guinea fowl need protection from predators and the elements, just as any poultry does.

I hope you'll be able to then train them to go into the coop. There is an article on that topic in the "articles" section linked at the top of this page. It is aimed at training keets, but the same treats-and-herding method can also be used for adults. Good luck!

I'm so sorry you lost Oreo, Guinea Mom

by BarbaraNH @, New Hampshire, USA, Friday, October 05, 2012, 11:41 (716 days ago) @ Guinea Mom